top of page

LVDA Committees

LVDA committees are made up of a combination of the LVDA board and general members.  


Below is a full listing of the committees, their purpose, responsibilities, and the committee members.  

If you are interested in serving on a committee, please complete this form: LVDA Committee Sign Up Form

Adult Team Competition Committee

Committee Chairpersons:  Aileen Williams

Committee Members:  Paige Dolon, Beth Kauffman, Jennifer Koch, Natasha Rutherford, Allecia Stiles


Committee Primary Responsibilities:  Plan and organize the LVDA Adult Team(s) for team competitions.  Organize LVDA Adult Team activities (team interest activities, fundraising events/activities, registration for team competitions, etc.)



Awards / Social Committee

Committee Chairperson:  Jennifer Peters

Committee Members:  Beth Kauffman, Jennifer Koch, Sherry Morse, Natasha Rutherford, Lindsay VanAssen, Patty Weston


Awards Committee Primary Responsibilities:  Provide ribbons/prizes for the shows as well as year-end awards. Selection and ordering of show ribbons & awards and Year-End awards. Selection of Year-End award winners.  Creation of award rules & regulations.

Social Committee Primary Responsibilities:   To plan and organize social activities that provide the LVDA membership the opportunity to get to know each other and learn from each other's experiences.   To plan and organize the LVDA Annual Awards Banquet.   Provide food and/or refreshments at all scheduled activities as needed and obtain volunteers to manage the concession stands at LVDA shows and events as needed.

Communications Committee


Committee Chairperson:  Ellen Broadhurst

Committee Members:  Jen Koch, Sherry Morse, Katie Staib


Purpose:  To maintain and publicize up to date information regarding the organization and its activities, communicate opportunities to the membership and non-member subscribers, and ensure appropriate advertising and promotion of LVDA sponsors.


Committee Primary Responsibilities:   Website design and content maintenance.   The management and updating of the LVDA Facebook page.   Communications to LVDA membership via E-News emails, The LVDA CenterLine, and LVDA Facebook page.   Design and updating of LVDA ads, banners, flyers, and posters.   Creation of marketing campaigns.  Development and updating of LVDA Publications.

Education Committee​


Committee Chairpersons:   Kim Hirschman

Committee Members:  Christina Coxe, Chris Dickenson, Melissa Morehouse, Maurine Swanson, Lindsay VanAssen, Renee Vaughn, Sabrina Wetzel, Debra Yeager, Annemarie Yoder

Purpose:  To plan, organize, and provide various learning and educational opportunities in the sport of dressage and equine health and safety.   These learning and educational opportunities should be designed to encompass opportunities for not only LVDA members & non-members interested in dressage, but also for the equine community non-dressage riders.    


These learning and educational opportunities should be provided through clinics, seminars, lectures, and the ability for individuals to offset the cost of attending educational and learning events by providing several Scholarships, Grants, and Volunteer Incentives.


Committee Primary Responsibilities:   Development, organization, and management of non-competitive educational activities (lectures, seminars, un-mounted clinics).  Development of scholarship program rules and regulations, receipt of scholarship applications, selection of scholarship recipients.

Fundraising Committee


Committee Chairpersons: Bethany Lewis & Natasha Rutherford

Committee Members:   Ellen Broadhurst, Tracy Gallagher, Jen Koch, Jennifer Peters, Katie Staib, Renee Vaughn, Debra Yeager

Committee Primary Responsibilities:   Development, organization, and management of fundraising activities for the LVDA general fund, the LVDA youth program fund as well as the adult & youth team competitions funds.   Soliciting and obtaining club, youth program, and team competition sponsorships.  Creation and management of sponsorship Levels and sponsor promotions.

Governance Committee

Committee Chairperson:   Sherry Morse

Committee Members:   Ellen Broadhurst, Chris Dickenson


Purpose:  To keep the organization running within a defined and agreed to set of rules and standards established by the organization, and also in alignment with the USDF.


Committee Primary Responsibilities:  The review and updating of the LVDA By-Laws and Policies & Procedures Manual.   Monitoring any rules & regulations the various LVDA Committees may have for compliance with current By-Laws, Policies & Procedures, and USDF guidelines.


Sub-Committee: The Appeals Committee

Committee Chairperson:   Chris Dickenson

Committee Members:   Patty Weston


Purpose:  To provide an avenue for the membership to bring issues and obtain a quick and fair resolution.


Committee Primary Responsibilities:  Receive requests from LVDA Members for review of any decision by the LVDA Executive Board that they do not agree on and would like to appeal for a reversal of the decision.   The Appeals Committee has the authority to overturn and reverse any LVDA Executive Board decision that has been brought up for appeal.

Show Committee


Committee Chairperson:   Lindsay VanAssen

Committee Members:    Jennifer Koch, Sherry Morse, Maurine Swanson, Aileen Williams


Purpose:  To allow members and non-members to have competitive opportunities and/or learning opportunities at shows and clinics, receive scores for year-end awards and championship classes, and provide experience for horses and riders to compete at larger regional and national competitions

Committee Primary Responsibilities:  Plan, organize and manage LVDA Schooling and Recognized Shows, Clinics, Fix-A-Tests


Youth Program Committee

Committee Chairperson:   Bethany Lewis

Committee Members:   Cara Klothe, Jennifer Koch, Sherry Morse, Natasha Rutherford, Katie Staib


Committee Primary Responsibilities:   To plan, organize, and manage the various Youth Program activities (youth clinics, youth team competitions, and youth program fundraising).   To develop marketing methods that pique the interest of local youth to participate and/or join the LVDA Youth Program.

Sub-Committee: Youth Team Competitions Committee

Committee Chairperson:  Bethany Lewis

Committee Members:    Cara Klothe, Jennifer Koch, Sherry Morse, Natasha Rutherford, Katie Staib


Committee Primary Responsibilities:  Plan and organize the LVDA Youth Team(s) for team competitions.  Organize LVDA Youth Team Activities (registration to team competitions, fundraising for Youth Team Competition Fund)

bottom of page